• First Lock and Security Technologies
  • Quality · Integrity · Service
  • First Lock and Security Technologies
  • Quality · Integrity · Service

Lock Grades Explained in Menlo Park, CA; ANSI Grade 1, 2 & 3 Deadbolt, Door Knobs, Handlesets, Locks & More

A major concern to most people is keeping their home or possibly their commercial building secure. Fortunately there is a grading system for locks, much like many products available to the general public. It can be important to know how the grading system works when considering the deadbolts to your castle or the locks to your livelihood. Today, we at First Lock & Security Technologies would like to elaborate on the three grades used by the American National Standards Institute to grade locks and deadbolts.

What is the Purpose of the ANSI Standards

Locks and deadbolts are graded by an organization called The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) which is a private, nonprofit group. Including locks and deadbolts, they administer voluntary performance standards for many builder’s hardware products. ANSI grades the durability, performance, and quality of locksets with a series of tests and operations. Generally ranging from good, to better, to best, there are 3 grades of certification ANSI assigns to a product based on the tests performed. These grades include Grade 1 Certification, Grade 2 Certification, and Grade 3 Certification.

ANSI Grade 3 Certification

Acceptable for basic residential security, and considered the ”good” or lowest grade ANSI provides is Grade 3 Certification. For residential door locks, this has the minimal requirements. Where primary doors are used, this grade should be avoided as it is recommended only on secondary entry points. The doorknobs endure testing of 200,000 cycles, 2 door strikes, and 150-pound weight. With a hammer, the deadbolts endure 2 door strikes and 100,000 cycles.

ANSI Grade 2 Certification

To deliver excellent security and durability, this “better” or higher grade is designed for residential security and is also applied to light commercial applications. Withstanding a 250-pound weight test, these door knobs are not nearly as durable as the best grade but is cycled a minimum of 400,000 times, and 4 door strikes. The deadbolts withstand 150,000 cycles and 5 door strikes with a hammer. The deadbolts resist 150,000 cycles and 5 door strikes with a hammer.

ANSI Grade 1 Certification

Optimal for commercial and residential use, Grade 1 is the strongest grade ANSI recognizes. The best grade equates it to the highest grade security. The doorknob tolerates a minimum of 800,000 cycles, 6 door strikes and 360-pound weight test to earn this rank. The deadbolt is cycled a minimum of 250,000 times and weathers 10 door strikes with a hammer.

Lock Sales, Installation, Upgrades, Replacements & More in San Mateo, Belmont, San Carlos, Redwood City, Woodside, Portola Valley, Menlo Park, Palo Alto, East Palo Alto, Stanford, Mountain View, Los Altos Hills, Sunnyvale, Cupertino, Santa Clara, Campbell, Saratoga, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, San Jose, Milpitas & Los Altos, California

You can make better decisions on the quality of deadbolts and doorknobs having this basic understanding of the grading system provided by the ANSI. There are many factors to consider when choosing hardware for your home or business and ANSI grading is one important factor to consider. Our experienced technical staff at First Lock and Security Technologies is always available to understand your needs and guide you in selecting the proper lock hardware for your needs and budget. Ensure you have dependable locking systems to secure your home or business in Greater Los Altos, CA by calling First Lock & Security Technologies to install your hardware with top-quality results. Give us a call at your earliest convenience.

Call Now Button